ApnoeCPAP

  • Zusätzlichen Atemhübe stimulieren die Atmung
  • Atemwege werden stabilisiert, die dadurch Atmung erleichtert
  • Eigenatmung wird erkannt, Gerät wechselt in CPAP-Modus
  • Verfügbar in den Geräten medinCNO®, medinCNO®mini, medin-NC3®

Apnoen und Unregelmäßigkeiten in der Atmung treffen nahezu jedes Früh- und Neugeborene. Je unreifer der Säugling, desto ausgeprägter treten Apnoen auf. Sie sind Ausdruck einer Störung der Atemmechanik sowie der Atemkontrolle. Wichtigstes Merkmal der Apnoen ist der aussetzende Luftstrom im Atemweg des Patienten.

Klinisch bedeutend wird die Apnoe für den Patienten durch die Begleiterscheinungen wie Bradykardie <80BPM (Abfall der Herzfrequenz) und Hypoxie <80% (Abfall der Sauerstoffsättigung). Ziel der Prophylaxe und Behandlung der Apnoe, ist die Vermeidung bzw. Minimierung negativer Auswirkungen. (Pantalitschka 2009, AMWF)

Bedeutung nCPAP für die Apnoe-Therapie

Die Effektivität von nasalem CPAP ist in diesem Kontext durch Studien belegt und Teil der gültigen Richtlinien zur Behandlung der Apnoe und ihrer Begleiterscheinungen (Pantalitschka 2009, AMWF, De Paoli AG 2008).

Die Wirkmechanismen sind:

  • Offenhalten der Atemwege durch positiven Druck
  • Erhöhung der FRC
  • Steigerung des Atemantriebs durch verbesserte Oxygenierung
  • Reduzierung der Atemarbeit

Der medin ApnoeCPAP-Modus als Closed-Loop-Apnea-Treatment kann von der Prophylaxe bis zur Behandlung bestehender Apnoen eingesetzt werden.

Basierend auf dem nCPAP-Modus werden zentrale und obstruktive Apnoen mit der einzigartigen MediTRIG Technologie erfasst und mit automatischen zusätzlichen Atemhüben des CPAP-Gerätes beantwortet. Die Höhe des Spitzendrucks der Atemhübe wird mit einem zweiten elektronischen Flowmeter eingestellt und auf den Basisfluss addiert. Die Parameter der ApnoeCPAP-Funktion sowie des MediTRIG können individuell auf den Patienten angepasst werden.

Folgende Parameter sind einzustellen

  • Trigger Sensitivität: +/- mbar; Obere und Untere Triggerschwelle als Druckdifferenz um den PEEP; 
  • Apnoe Zeit: Von 2s bis zu 20s; Dauer der Atempause bis zur Reaktion des Gerätes
  • Inspirations Zeit: Von 0,2s bis zu 2 s; Dauer des Atemhubs
  • Push Flow: Zusätzlicher einstellbarer Atemgasfluss, mit dem ein Spitzendruck erzeugt werden kann
  • BackUp Rate: Anzahl der automatischen Atemhübe pro Minute, die nach Ablauf der Apnoe Zeit dem Patienten verabreicht werden

1 Apnea
2 Automatisierter Atemhub

Referenzliteratur

Pantalitschka T, Sievers J, Urschitz MS, Herberts T, Reher C, Poets CF. Randomised crossover trial of four nasal respiratory support systems for apnoea of prematurity in very low birthweight infants. Arch Dis Child Fetal Neonatal Ed. 2009; 94(4):F245-8.

AWMF, 024-013 – S2k- Leitlinie: Therapie idiopatischer Apnoen, Bradykardien und Hypoxämien; AWMF; www.awmf.org

De Paoli AG, Davis PG, Faber B, Morley CJ. Devices and pressure sources for administration of nasal continuous positive airway pressure (NCPAP) in preterm neonates. Cochrane Database Syst Rev. 2008(1):CD002977

ApneaCPAP

  • Additional breaths stimulate respiration
  • Airways are stabilized which facilitates breathing as a result
  • The patient’s own breathing is detected and the device switches into CPAP mode
  • Available in the devices medinCNO®, medinCNO®mini, medin-NC3®

Apnea and breathing irregularities affect nearly every premature infant and newborn. The more premature the infant is, the more markedly apnea occurs. They represent a disruption in the respiratory mechanics as well as respiratory control. The most important feature of the apnea is the intermittent air flow in the patient’s airway.

Apnea is clinically significant for the patient due to the concomitant symptoms such as bradycardia <80 BPM (decreased heart rate) and hypoxia <80% (decreased oxygen saturation). The goal of prophylaxis and treatment of apnea is to avoid or minimize negative effects. (Pantalitschka 2009, AMWF)

Importance of nCPAP for Apnea-therapy

The efficacy of nasal CPAP is proven in this context by studies and is a part of the applicable guidelines for the treatment of apnea and its concomitant symptoms (Pantalitschka 2009, AMWF, De Paoli AG 2008).

The mechanisms of action are:

  • Holding the airways open through positive pressure
  • Increasing the FRC
  • Increasing the respiratory drive through improved oxygenation
  • Reducing the breathing effort

The medin ApneaCPAP mode as a closed-loop apnea treatment can be used from the prophylaxis to the treatment of existing apnea.

Based on the nCPAP mode, central and obstructive apnea is detected with the unique MediTRIG technology and responded to with automatic additional breaths from the CPAP device. The level of the peak pressure of the breaths is adjusted with a second electronic flow meter and added to the basic flow. The parameters of the ApneaCPAP function as well as of the MediTRIG can be individually adapted to the patient.

The following parameters are to be set

  • Sensitivity trigger: +/- mbar; upper and lower trigger threshold as the pressure difference with regard to the PEEP
  • Apnea time: From 2 s to 20 s; duration of breathing pause until device reacts
  • Inspiration time: From 0.2 s to 2 s; duration of breath
  • Push flow: Additional adjustable breathing gas flow with which peak pressure can be generated
  • Backup rate: Number of automatic breaths per minute which are administered to the patient after the end of apnea time

1 Apnea
2 Automated breath

Pantalitschka T, Sievers J, Urschitz MS, Herberts T, Reher C, Poets CF. Randomised crossover trial of four nasal respiratory support systems for apnoea of prematurity in very low birthweight infants. Arch Dis Child Fetal Neonatal Ed. 2009; 94(4):F245-8.

AWMF, 024-013 – S2k- Leitlinie: Therapie idiopatischer Apnoen, Bradykardien und Hypoxämien; AWMF; www.awmf.org

De Paoli AG, Davis PG, Faber B, Morley CJ. Devices and pressure sources for administration of nasal continuous positive airway pressure (NCPAP) in preterm neonates. Cochrane Database Syst Rev. 2008(1):CD002977